3.2. Undo

If you have made drawing or editing changes to the image which you don't want to keep, the Undo command allows you to undo the last change and return the image to its previous state. Almost anything you do to an image can be undone in this way (with the exception of scripts, which deactivate this function). Further Undo operations may be performed, depending upon the number of Undo levels configured in the System Resources page of the Preferences Dialog. See the section on Undoing for more information about GIMP's very sophisticated Undo functions.

The operation that has been undone is not lost immediately: you can get it back by using the Redo command right away. But if you perform another operation, the ability to Redo will be irretrievably lost.

3.2.1. Activate the Command

  • You can access this command from the image menubar through EditUndo,

  • by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Z,

  • or by simply clicking on the status you want in the Undo History dialog.