2.19. Close

The Close command closes the active image.It is disabled if no image is open.

Closing an image is not undoable: once it is closed, everything is gone, including the undo history. If the image is not clean — that is, if you have changed it since the last time you saved it — you are asked to confirm that you really want to close it. Note that an image is marked as clean when it is saved to a file, even if the file format chosen does not preserve all the information in the image, so it is a good idea to think for a moment about what you are doing before closing an image. If there is the slightest possibility that you will regret it, save the file (automatically in the XCF file format since GIMP-2.8).

2.19.1. Activating the Command

  • You can access this command from the image menu through FileClose,

  • or by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+W.

  • For most systems on which the GIMP runs, you can also execute it by clicking on a Close button somewhere on the image window titlebar. The location and appearance of this button are determined by the windowing system and the window manager. If no image is open, clicking on this button closes GIMP.